Amahlathi Local Municipality is an administrative area in the Amatole District of the Eastern Cape in South Africa. Amahlati is an isiXhosa name that means “a place where many trees are grouped together, a forest”, Municipalities must do this within its financial and administrative capacity to enable it to give priority to basic needs of communities in order to promote social and economic development within their jurisdiction functional areas.

Amahlathi Municipality therefore is no exception. It must account on how we have been handling the administrative and financial functions on behalf of our communities. One must say it up front that Amahlathi Municipality has been re-constituted properly after the 18 May 2011 local government elections and council structures have been established.

Amahlathi Local Municipality News

ERRATUM: Bid No. SCM/38/2016-17 (Township Establishment at Mlungisi)

The Municipality would like to make a correction for Bid No. SCM/38/2016-17 (Township Establishment at Mlungisi), that was advertised on Wednesday 22/02/2017 that compulsory briefing session will be on Monday 27 February at 10:00am, which will be held at LED Boardroom.